Review: Fakebook II

Published: April 17, 1994

Originally Published By: University Of Illinois Press

Fakebook II for solo piano by Arthur Gottschalk and performed by Stefanie C. Dickinson brought windows of jazz into an epic three-movement setting. Each movement (Corea, Tatum, and Brubeck) easily traveled through free-form feels, spritely or driving rhythms, and snippets of jazz standards that quickly dissipated into the ether. The fiery Brubeck finale was everything one would want from such a rhythmically driving composer.

Related Articles

Recent Articles

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events